Beginner seeks Advice on Purchasing Video Capable Microscope

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: MacroMike, nzmacro, Ken Ramos, twebster, S. Alden

tbaldwinster

Beginner seeks Advice on Purchasing Video Capable Microscope

Post by tbaldwinster »

I am a school of the arts graduate student currently writing a proposal for a research grant that provides up to $1000, for which I must provide a detailed budget list. I have no experience in microscopy, other than recent research, but I am planning on using this budget to purchase microscope equipment to create still images and color video of relativly high quality and high resolution for manipulation with video editing/composite programs. I plan mainly on working with protozoa (paramecium, amoeba, stentor). I am looking for advice on a microscope setup within that budget that has CCD video or possibly USB or Firewire capability, and the possibility of different illumination techniques (of which I still know very little, only that I would need dark field/light field capabilities). Does anybody have any advice with regards to the setup I would need? I would like to have a fairly good range of magnification, and I saw a CCD Microscope from Precision World on Ebay that had 40X to 1600X for around $350. Do I need a stereo microscope in addition to a video capable light microscope, in order to prepare slides? What suppliers should I look to? What other equipment, in addition to the microscope setup, should I include in my budget? I am still a complete beginner, but have been researching the subject extensively and am really impressed and interested in the community surrounding microscopy, besides the fascination with microscopic organisms themselves. Please Advise, as these possible funds would be at my complete disposal.
Thanks,
Taylor

Charles Krebs

Post by Charles Krebs »

Taylor,

Where to start! :wink: