Need some shopping advice

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: MacroMike, nzmacro, Ken Ramos, twebster, S. Alden

nephiliim

Need some shopping advice

Post by nephiliim »

Hello,

I am Tom and i've just strated macrophotography, because i got my first camera from my boss. It's a second hand Sony DSC-P71, thats a 3,2 million pixel cybershot camera with a 24 mm lens.

I allready had a little bit experience with my fathers fujica with macro lens and rings, but that is an old fashion film camera.

I'm saving up some money for a beter camera, which can be fitted with extra lenses and flashes. But I don't what camera is good enough at a relatively low cost, considreing i am only a student.

Can someone please help me?
Sometimes smaller is better!
*nodge nodge :D*

Comments and advice always welcome
My little website

S. Alden
Site Admin

Post by S. Alden »

Hi Tom

What kind of budget are you talking? There are many good cameras on the market, but it is dependent on what you can afford. The DSLRs (digital camera) do allow for exchange of lens and flash units, but they can get pretty expensive. Have you looked at the Canon Digital Rebel line? Most individuals that have this camera have only spoke good of it. Check out www.keh.com. A good reputable company that sells used equipment.
Sue Alden
Administrator
Repost of my images are welcome

Planapo

Post by Planapo »

Hello Tom

Macro photography with a camera is not my forte but I have an old Nikon 995 Coolpix which has a splendid macro setting in the camera itself. I never need to change lenses. On the macro setting I can easily fill the frame with a 15mm object, if I want more mag than that I go to a microscope.

Images are lovely, ring flash is available, secondhand 995s or 4500s are available really cheap and new ones aren't much either.