new and nieve

A forum to ask questions, post setups, and generally discuss anything having to do with photomacrography and photomicroscopy.

Moderators: MacroMike, nzmacro, Ken Ramos, twebster, S. Alden

jetlag

new and nieve

Post by jetlag »

I am new at macre photography but I do have an Idea that I want . And that is I want large prints about 24 X 30 and I know that I cannot get that with digital. I also know that I want to print them on a epson 7600. I have alot to learn. Someone sugested a Mamiya 21/4X23/4 all help welcome.

Kenv

Re: new and nieve

Post by Kenv »

jetlag wrote: And that is I want large prints about 24 X 30 and I know that I cannot get that with digital. I also know that I want to print them on a epson 7600. I have alot to learn
Welcome to the forum.
Of course you can print at 24x30 inches with digital - yes you have a lot to learn. Any good 6 megapixel camera will give you a file which if re-sampled in Photoshop or Fractals will post a superb 24 X 30 inch print, you could go to an 8 megapixel camera and print a poster size print. Get a digital SLR and never look backwards!
Kenv
Ken

twebster
Site Admin

Post by twebster »

Hi ya' Jet :!: :D

I moved your post here because the image galleries are for posting images. Questions of a general nature belong in the Discussion...Forum and anything about equipment, technical help, and techniques belong here.

I've seen great 24 x 30 prints from a Canon D10. It takes a little interpolation but the prints looked good. Using 2 1/4 film is mostly a waste doing macro work unless you are shooting large subjects life-size. A fly at life-size fits on a 35mm frame nicely. A fly at life-size on a 2 1/4 frame is lost in all the extra film. If you try to make the fly bigger on the 2 1/4 film then you lose a huge amount of depth of field.

You may have a lot to learn but this is a good place to learn it. :D

Best regards, :D
Last edited by twebster on Sun Feb 13, 2005 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tom Webster